Tralee Parnells GAA Club News

Posted by


Club AGM

The Club AGM will take place on Sunday 14th November 4 to 6pm in the sports hall at the Tralee Sports & Leisure Centre, Oakpark. Notice of motions for the AGM and nominations of registered full members to serve as an Executive Officer for 2022 may be made by any registered full member and must be submitted to the Secretary and received no later than Sunday 31st October. Completed nomination forms should be sent to the Secretary at Members are urged to volunteer for all positions on the Executive Commitee. Involvement in the club is essential for it’s future.

U11 and U13 Hurling
All U11 and U13 boys are welcome to meet up on Saturday mornings from 09:15 to 10:00 at the astro pitch at the MTU Sports academy for some social hurling.  This is an opportunity for the boys to keep up their practise during the off season.  Games will be supervised and whoever is available can just turn up that morning.

North Kerry U21 Championship
On a historic night for the club, Tralee Parnells played their first ever match in the North Kerry U21 Championship last Friday vs Ballyduff under lights in Caherslee. On a night that had everything in terms of drama, Parnells came out on top in a hard fought and exciting affair. With the late arrival of the referee due to a mix up in start time, tensions were already high when the sliotar was eventually thrown in.

The Parnells lads, playing their first match together as a team, got off to the better start and were 0-3 to 0-1 up at the first water break, thanks to some tenacious defending and great attacking play.

However, on the resumption, Ballyduff struck for a goal when their full-forward managed to get a shot away, despite being closely marked and the ball sneaked in at the right hand post. From there to half time, both teams only added a point each with the Parnells point coming from Darragh Reen. HT Tralee Parnells 0-4 Ballyduff 1-4.

As the teams were preparing to come back out for the second half, the lights failed and it looked for a while like the game would have to be abandoned.

However, thanks to some divine intervention from Joe Wallace, the generator kicked back into life and the game was able to resume.  Parnells showed the greater hunger, now playing into the car-park end but despite narrowing the gap to the minimum on a number of occasions and in fact drawing level, Ballyduff were always able to get a score or two of their own.

The best move of the match came when Conor Brick, on as a sub for Brian Hamilton, won a great ball and laid it off to Ruairi O’Sullivan who was steaming through the middle but his shot was superbly saved by the Ballyduff goalkeeper.

Niall Cassidy was causing all sorts of problems for the Ballyduff defence and he drew a number of fouls which were converted by Daragh Reen. Parnells attacked again and Graham Sheehy won a ’65 which was expertly converted by Luke Barrett.

With time running out, Parnells needed one more score which came from a free by Daragh Reen, again after Niall Cassidy was fouled.

Ballyduff had plenty of chances to win the match but were very wasteful, with 5 wides in all in the last 10 minutes. Referee Pat Sheehy blew the full-time whistle with the scores tied Tralee Parnells 1-7 Ballyduff 0-10.

With some confusion as to whether extra time would be required, a quick phone call to the NK Board confirmed a result on the night was needed, so the teams prepared for another 10 mins a side.

The Parnells lads started extra time with a sense that victory was within touching distance and they added 1-2 in the first half of extra time, the goal excellently finished to the net by Conor Brick after some intense pressure by the Parnells forwards. A visibly tiring Ballyduff could only add 0-1 in reply. Half Time ET: Tralee Parnells 1-12 Ballyduff 1-8.

Parnells were able to bring on some fresh legs, with Luke Chester, Brian Lonergan and Martin Savage all entering the fray. Parnells could sense victory and kept the pressure on by adding 2 further points. Ballyduff got a point of their own and with the very last attack got the goal their pressure deserved, but it was too little too late and Parnells held on for a famous victory. Next up is a semi-final vs Ballyheigue. Full Time Extra Time: Tralee Parnells 1-14 Ballyduff 2-9

Team: 1. Robin Porter 2. Eddie Sheehy 3. Tadhg Brick 4. Enda O’Connor 5. Ruairi O’Sullivan 6. Luke Barrett 7. Jerome Daly 8. Cathal Dunne 9. Tadhg Reen 10. Niall Cassidy 11. Barry Lyons 12. Graham Sheehy 13. Cillian Litchfield 14. Darragh Reen 15. Brian Hamilton.
Subs: Conor Brick; Luke Chester; Brian Lonergan; Martin Savage; Ciarán Murray

Comments are closed.