Sinn Féin’s Pa Daly And Michael Healy Rae Elected On The First Count

Posted by


Newly elected Sinn Fein TD Pa Daly held aloft by supporters at the count centre tonight.

THE first count result from the Kerry Constituency is in from Killarney Sports and Leisure Centre and it’s no surprise that it reflects the tally results from earlier today.

Independent Michael Healy Rae and Sinn Féin’s Pa Daly, were elected on the first count tonight with the Kilgarvan man topping the poll. The next step will see Michael Healy Rae’s surplus distributed to the other candidates.

Continued below…


It’s still looking obvious that Michael Healy Rae, his brother Danny, Sinn Féin’s Pa Daly, Fine Gael’s Brendan Griffin and (probably) Norma Foley of Fianna Fáil will be elected.

The count will continue tomorrow morning and John Brassil of Fianna Fáil could still be in with a slight chance for that last seat. Here’s the result of the first count…

• Micheal Healy Rae (Independent) — 16,818 

• Pa Daly (Sinn Féin) — 15,733 

• Brendan Griffin (Fine Gael) — 10,296

• Danny Healy Rae (Independent) — 8,663

• Norma Foley (Fianna Fáil) — 6,856

• John Brassil (Fianna Fáil) — 5,431

• Cleo Murphy (Green Party) — 4,122 

• Mike Kennelly (Fine Gael) — 3,974

• Norma Moriarty (Fianna Fáil) — 3,767 

• Sonny Foran (Aontú) — 1,109 

• John Bowler (Irish Freedom Party) — 473 

• Ted Cronin (Independent) — 391

• Sean O’Leary (Independent) — 33 

Electorate: 116,885

Total Valid Poll: 78,209

Invalid Poll:  543

Quota: 12,945

Comments are closed.