REPORT: Ballyduff Overcome Ballyheigue To Win Minor Hurling Title

Posted by


Mike O’Halloran saw Ballyduff become Kerry Minor Hurling champions after  they defeated Ballyheigue…

Ballyduff 1-13


Darragh Slattery with his dad David and grandfather Mike.

Ballyheigue had the perfect start when Felim O’Sullivan struck for goal.

Tomas Gaynor added point on four minutes before Kevin Goulding put Ballyduff on the board with a point from play, two minutes later Dylan Moriarty added another before Colin Walsh taped over for Ballyheigue.

It was nip and tuck to the water break with Dylan Moriarty, Jake Brosnan and Anthony Kavanagh adding a point each for Ballyduff and Nathan Guiren posting two points.
Dylan Moriarty had two points to draw Ballyduff level on twenty four minutes 0-07 to 1-04.

Continued below…

Nathan Guiren had two frees that drifted wide in the breeze before Dylan Moriarty struck a point to put Ballyduff ahead after Adam Segal worked hard to win the free almost from the puck out he blasted to the Ballyheigue net, he then hit the post twice with a goal chance and a point effort.

With 32 minutes gone Nathan Guiren was given an advantage he fired to Darragh Quinlans left but Quinlan saved, Nathan tapped over the free to leave the halftime score Ballyheigue 1-05 Ballyduff 1-08.

Ballyheigue started well in the second half with Colin Walsh pointing, Aiden O’Connor came on for Ballyduff and Ballyheigue introduced Eric walsh for the injured Denis Lynch.

Dylan Moriarty pointed for Ballyduff, Nathan Guiren replied with a free. Conor O’Sullivan made it a one point game on forty three minutes shortly after Ballyheigue did have a goal chance but Felim O’Sullivan was put under severe pressure by the Ballyduff defence.

The sides were level on 46 minutes 1-09 each when Colin Walsh converted a free, but Jack Enright who had come on earlier put Ballyduff ahead by a point after a great catch.

Ballyduff were to add three more points two from Dylan Moriarty, one of these a pointed free came after Darragh Slattery drove through the middle from his own half to win the free.

Anthony Kavanagh had the final point for Ballyduff. I was hugely impressed by Darragh Slattery and Kyle O’Connor who must have pushed Kevin Goulding pretty close for the man of the match award.

Comments are closed.