No Hurling Glory For The Green As They Lose Munster Final

Posted by


A report on the Munster U16½ E Hurling Final in Mallow on Friday…

San Nicolas, Rinn Waterford 3-12

Tralee CBS 4-3

Tralee CBS were denied a first ever Munster hurling title as they went down to superior San Nicolas side from Waterford in Mallow.

It all started so well for The Green as they raced into a 1-3 to 0-1 lead after 10 minutes with Daragh O’Donoghue the tormentor in chief up front with Ruairi OSullivan and Declan O’Donoghue supplying the ammunition.

Continued below…


The Waterford boys however went on a scoring rampage in the second quarter with 1-5 in succession before O’Donoghue netted again to steady the ship.

The game’s pivotal moment came on 26 minutes when an altercation under the stand saw Tralee’s Aodhan McKenna see red and The Green reduced to 14.

This served only to inspire the Tralee boys – urged on by great support – however and a goal from sub Daragh Fitzgerald left the score 3-3 to 1-7 in favour of the Tralee boys at the interval and the dream was well and truly alive.

Into the second half and a early blitz of 2-3 in the first five minutes put paid to these Tralee aspirations.

Despite the titanic resolve of Sean Hamilton and Daniel O’Rourke in the half back line and Connor Corrigan and Daragh Reen in the forwards, The Green never looked a scoring threat thereafter whilst San Nicolas clipped sufficient points to put them into an unassailable lead by the three quarter mark despite a red card.

Continued below…


A late consolation goal was The Green’s only score in the second half, but this was a poor reflection on a team that competed ferociously throughout but simply lack the quality and experience of the opposition.

Tralee CBS
1 Jamie Lee Ballyheigue
2 Ryan McElligott Crotta ONeills
3 Eamon Rohan Crotta ONeills
4 Tadgh Brick Tralee Parnells
5 Sean Hamilton Tralee Parnells
6 Aodhan McKenna Crotta ONeills
7 Danial ORourke Crotta ONeills
8 Declan ODonoghue Crotta ONeills
9 Ruairi OSullivan Tralee Parnells
10 Darragh Reen Tralee Parnells
11 Conor Corrigan Kilmoyley
12 James Sheehan Crotta ONeills
13 Padraic OCallaghan Abbeydorney
14 Darragh ODonoghue Crotta ONeills capt
15 David Couchman Abbeydorney

16 Devon Burns Tralee Parnells
17 Darragh Fitzgerald Tralee Parnells
18 Jonathan Lowe Tralee Parnells
19 Darragh Hogan Ardfert
20 Sean ODriscoll Tralee Parnells
21 Denis Quill Crotta ONeills
22 Martin Savage Tralee Parnells
23 Jack Costelloe Tralee Parnells

manager mark ryall

Comments are closed.