Kerry Badminton Association News

Posted by


The Listowel Badminton Tournament took place in Listowel Community Centre Sunday 12 January. Junior Griffin Listowel presenting The Division 5 Plaque to Winners Philip Healy Listowel Charlotte Quinn Moyvane along with runners up Grainne Twomey Ballybunion & Christy Dean Annascaul.

Kerry Badminton Association News by Ruth Concannon

The Lee Strand sponsored Listowel Tournament was held last weekend in Listowel community centre. Run over two days this open tournament is one of the longest running in Kerry and always attracts great entries.

Day one on Saturday the 11th saw the division 1,2,3 and masters all in action.

The combined division 1 and 2 men’s and ladies’ competitions provided some exceptional entertainment for the crowds with both finals going to long three set battles. The ladies winners of Sinead Galvin (Killarney) & Helen Brown (Moyvane) defeated Miriam Rohan (Kingdom) & Sam Hayes (Killarney) on a scoreline of 23-21, 19-21 and 23-21.

In the men’s, Tom Burke (Kingdom) & Cian Liston (Listowel) defeated Fergal Hannon (Listowel) & Cathal Donovan (Annascaul) 21-15,¬† 20-22 and 22-20. Tom and Helen would then go on to pair up and win the mixed competition doing the double for the day. In the mixed final they defeated Fergal Hannon and Sam Hayes.

Action then moved to division 3 where Jaeb Workman (Killarney) and her partner Carmel Hudson (Moyvane) were paired off with the men winners of Cian Liston and Ger O’Connor (Killarney) in the mixed final. In another exciting three setter Jaeb and Cian came out the winners and the crowds went home excited for more to come the next day.

Sunday it was the turn of division 4 and 5. A large entry saw plenty of action and more exciting finals. The Div 5 mixed final winners were Charlotte Quinn (Moyvane) & Philip Healy (Listowel) beating Grainne Twomey  (Ballybunion) & Christy Dean (Annascaul) 21-17, 21-18. Last final of the day was in Division 4 where Niall Hanlon (Causeway) & Becky Weiland (Listowel) defeated Mike Reardon (Listowel) & Siobhan Colbert (Ballyheigue) 21 15, 21 15.

Earlier in the week Tralee Sports Complex was the venue for the mens and ladies league finals for divisions 3 and 4. Results from the Agri Auto Parts sponsored finals.

Division 3 Ladies:

Listowel 3 – Moyvane 3: Listowel won on sets 9-5

The Listowel Division 3 Ladies Team who won the Division 3 league competition.

Division 3 Men:

Listowel 4 – Killarney 2

Division 4 Ladies:

Listowel B 5 – Listowel A 1

Division 4 Men:

Listowel 4 – Causeway 0

The Listowel Division 4 Mens Team who won the Division 4 league competition.

Congratulations to all, some fantastic games of badminton played in the Tralee Sports Complex. Particular congratulations to Listowel for the clean sweep!

Next week the Killarney Aura is the venue for the Munster D and G championships.

Comments are closed.