Kerry Badminton Association News

Posted by


Division 3. Mixed Doubles winners, Adele O’Brien Killarney & Flor Griffin Listowel being presented with their prizes by Patricia Herlihy Chairperson Listowel Club. Photo: Thomas Bradley

Listowel Club Tournament & Social 50th Anniversary

Last weekend held host to the annual Listowel club tournament and social in the Listowel Community Centre and the Listowel Arms hotel respectively. It was run through the weekend with a masters competition as well as the division 1&2 competition taking place on Saturday and the division 3,4 and 5 competitions on the Sunday with the social Saturday night.

The results from the weekend are as follows:


In the division 1 & 2 competitions, a doubles and a mixed competition were played separately.

Mens Doubles:


Fergal Hannon (Listowel) & Sean Breen (Wicklow)


Adham Jaber (Cork) & Ethan Trischler (Listowel)

Ladies Doubles:

Division 1&2 Ladies Doubles Invitational winners, Elaine Hogan Tipperary & Edel Kenny Castleisland being presented with their prizes by Patricia Herlihy Chairperson Listowel Club. Photo: Thomas Bradley


Edel Kenny (Kingdom) & Elaine Hogan (Tippereary)


Miriam Rohan (Kingdom) & Maureen O’Shea (Tipperary)

Mixed Doubles:


Fergal Hannon (Listowel) & Maureen O’Shea (Tipperary)


Finbar Kelly (Tipperary) & Patricia O’Herlihy (Listowel)


Mens Masters Grade D,E & F


Danny Ruddy (Tipperary) & Tony Deasy (Cork)


Mark Loughnane (Listowel) & Jamie Elliott (Kingdom)

Mens Masters Grade G&H


Des Molyneaux (Listowel) & Tom Bradley (Kingdom)


Donal Daly (Listowel) & Paul Wyer (Listowel)


Sunday, played host to the division 3,4&5 competitions with a doubles competition and a mixed final.

Division 5:

Elliot Sixsmith Annascaul, & Maggie Li Listowel on their way to winning the Division 5 Mixed Doubles Competition. Photo: Thomas Bradley


Elliot Sixsmith (Annascaul) & Maggie Li (Listowel)


Marcin Megger (Listowel) & Rita Knightley (Annascaul)

Division 4:


Alvin Rahman (Killarney) & Margaret Healy (Listowel)


Des Molyneaux (Listowel) & Jessica O’Loughlin (Kingdom)

Division 3:


Florence Griffin (Listowel) & Adele O’Brien (Killarney)


Michael Collins (Moyvane) & Suzanne Sheehy (Tralee)

A big thank you and well done must be said to all those that helped run and organise the weekend between both the social and the badminton itself. It was great to see so many playing over the 2 days of badminton and was lovely to see people from other counties support the club as well. Congratulations to all the winners.

That very nearly brings our season to an end for another year with just the Munster Interleague finals to be played next Sunday in UL so best of luck to each of the clubs going forward in that.

Finally, our end of year Kerry Badminton Social is taking place the 27th of May in the Plaza Hotel Killarney so we hope to see you all there collecting all your awards you’ve won throughout the year and enjoying the night.

Comments are closed.