PHOTOS: Primary Schools Welcome All-Ireland Champs Na Gaeil

Posted by


Former pupils Timmy Culloty, Shane Fitzgerald and Chairman of Na Gaeil GAA Club Tim Lynch with the All-Ireland Junior Club Cup at Listellick NS on Tuesday. Photo by Dermot Crean

THE celebrations continued this week for Na Gaeil GAA Club as some of the panel and management visited primary schools on Tuesday.

They were crowned All-Ireland Junior Club champions after victory in Croke Park on Saturday afternoon and have enjoyed the past few days marking the momentous win.

They toured the cup to schools connected with the Oakpark club yesterday with the biggest cheers coming at Gaelscoil Mhic Easmainn, next door to their Killeen base, where no fewer than 16 of the panel went to school many moons ago.

Continued below…


The entire student body packed the hall to welcome the heroes, with many dressed in Na Gaeil kits and in full voice for the visitors.

Then it was on to Listellick NS where players Kieran Dineen, Jordan Murphy, Ruairi O’Sullivan, Niall O’Mahony, Timmy Culloty and Shane Fitzgerald received their early education, as well as Chairman of the club, Tim Lynch.

CBS Primary, which has nurtured the footballing talent of children from various clubs in town, welcomed past pupils Dara and Eoghan Sheehy, Eoin Doody, hat-trick hero Ian McCarthy, Damien Burke, Chris Horan and Rory Murphy.

Finally, Caherleaheen NS held a special reception for teacher Paul Daly and past pupil and current player Darragh Reen.

Paul taught Darragh at Caherleaheen NS. Paul was the oldest player on the Na Gaeil team with Darragh the youngest and both came on as substitutes on Saturday scoring a point each.

With secondary schools also on Na Gaeil’s radar for a visit, the celebrations will continue for some time. Scroll down for photos…

Na Gaeil captain, Eoin Doody, at Gaelscoil Mhic Easmainn on Tuesday. Photo by Dermot Crean


Na Gaeil fans with players, management and club officials at Gaelscoil Mhic Easmainn on Tuesday. Photo by Dermot Crean

Former pupils of Gaelscoil Mhic Easmainn Pól Ó Dálaigh, Dan O’Conchúir, Eamonn O’Neill, Ryan Ó Néill, Andrew de Barra and Seamus Ó Luanaigh with the Principal Cáit Uí Chonchúir on Tuesday. Photo by Dermot Crean


Listellick NS pupils with the All-Ireland Junior Club Cup at the school on Tuesday. Photo by Dermot Crean

Paul Daly with Darragh Reen at Caherleaheen NS.

Comments are closed.