REPORT: CBS Beat Mounthawk To Take Home Dunloe Cup

Posted by
Kerry ETB insert


A report on the Kerry Schools Under 16 1/2 Dunloe Cup Final at Lewis Road, Killarney…

Tralee CBS 1-15

Mercy Mounthawk 1-7

CBS MounthawkTralee CBS are champions of Kerry, ultimately outclassing a dogged Mounthawk side following a final at Dr Crokes grounds which only came to life the final quarter.

Being the first ever college final between the two Tralee schools, the tension between the two sides was palpable in a turgid first half.

The Green had raced into a four points to one lead courtesy of Sean Quilter (f), Michael Kelliher, Daire Keane and the impressive Fergal O’Brien.

Continued below…

Opel Insert 1


With Sean Hamilton employed to stem the flow to Mounthawk key offensive weapon, Donagh McMahon, Mounthawk were finding it hard to get a foothold but points from Michael O’Gara and two from Patrick Dowling kept them within striking distance ending the half trailing five to four.

The restart saw Mounthawk signal their intent with a leveller from the outstanding Fergal Barry from centre back.

CBS Dunloe team

The CBS The Green Dunloe Cup winning team.

The Green replied with three more from Kelleher (f), Keane and O’Brien to lead nine to six but a goal from Daragh Courtney levelled affairs and gave Mounthawk hope.

The game looked set for a grandstand finish but this never materialised as The Green clicked into another gear hitting 1-6 to 0-1 in the final 12 minutes.

Central to this was the introduction of Jason Mortimer who terrorised Mounthawk, scoring two and repeatedly setting up the energetic Keane for three – Quilter and captain John Walsh from distance and the game-clinching goal, a virtuoso strike from Kelliher late on.

Continued below…

MJs Diner Insert


An outstanding workrate, allied with potency in attack were the cornerstones of this victory for The Green and they were worthy victors.

Mounthawk will be disappointed with the climax to a game that they looked set to seriously contest.

Best for the Green were Padraig White and Conor Corrigan in defence, Quilter and Walsh in midfield with Keane, Kellehir and Mortimer the match winners up front. Mounthawk were best served by James Quigley, Fergal Barry and Rory Murphy in defence, Patrick Dowling in midfield and Michael O’Gara in attack.

Both teams will look forward to the Munster Frewen Cup on January 11th with The Green facing Colaiste Colim, Ballincollig whilst Mounthawk face Colaiste Chriost Ri with the winners facing each other.

Tralee CBS
1 David Oba (Austin Stacks)
2 Padraig White (John Mitchels)
3 Josh OKeeffe (Ballymac)
4 Graham Hudson (John Mitchels)
5 Conor Corrigan (Churchill)
6 Damien Bourke (Na Gaeil)
7 Eoghan Carroll (Austin Stacks)
8 John Walsh (C) (Knocknagoshel)(0-1)
9 Sean Quilter (Austin Stacks) (0-3, 2f)
10 Daniel ORourke (Austin Stacks)
11 Fergal OBrien (St Pats, Blennerville)(0-2)
12 Sean Hamilton (Churchill)
13 Daire Keane (Ballymac) (0-4)
14 Michael Kelliher(John Mitchels)( 1-3, 2f)
15 Conor Myers (Austin Stacks)

Subs Used
Sean Kennedy (Annascaul) 20mins
Jason Mortimer (Churchill), 35mins. (0-2)
Ben Foley (Kerins ORahillys) 45mins

Mercy Mounthawk
1 Brian ORegan (Ardfert)
2 Colm Healy (Ardfert)
3 Kevin OConnor (Churchill)
4 James Quigley (Austin Stacks)
5 Cathal Dunne (Ballymac)
6 Fergal Barry (Na Gaeil)
7 Rory Murphy (Na Gaeil)
8 Patrick Downing (St Pats, Blennerville)
9 Darragh Courtney (Ardfert)
10 Paraic Linnane (Austin Stacks)
11 Michael OGara(Austin Stacks)
12 Shane McCarthy (John Mitchels)
13 Paul Buckley (Churchill)
14 Dara Barry Walsh (Austin Stacks)
15 Donagh McMahon (Austin Stacks)

Subs Used:
Aaron Dewey (Na Gaeil)
Aidan Mangan (Kerins ORahillys)
Seamus Harty (Na Gaeil)
Dominic Craig

Conor Morrison O’Brien (John Mitchels)

Comments are closed.