The Spa-Based Kerry Cricket Club Up For National Club Of The Year

Posted by
Stokers Lodge Insert 1


Kerry Cricket team

Kerry Cricket Club team. Photo: Kerry Cricket Facebook Page

KERRY Cricket Club has been shortlisted for the Cricket Ireland Club of the Year.

The club was founded in 1872 but this year made great strides when it moved to the picturesque purpose built Oyster Oval in Spa.

They have been shortlisted alongside some illustrious clubs from around the country, they are: Clontarf (Dublin), Cork County, Ardmore (Waterford), Foxlodge (Derry), Ballyspallen (Derry) and Laois.

Continued below…

Kerry ETB Insert 1


The winner will be announced at Cricket Ireland Awards lunch on Friday November 11 at the Fallon & Byrne Restaurant in Dublin.

Along with securing a new home in 2016, Kerry firsts beat North Kildare, which secured a home quarter final against Newbuildings (Derry) in the Irish National Cup

The side finished runners up to Cork in the Munster Senior Shield and Munster Premier Division. They also reached the semi-finals of the Munster t20 tournament.

Kerry third team completed a remarkable double taking the Munster Minor Shield and the Munster Division Two Trophy. The unique Oyster Oval is believed to be the only cricket ground along the 2,500k Wild Atlantic Way.

Comments are closed.