CBS The Green Overcomes Killorglin Side To Retain Russell Cup

Posted by


CBS The Green retained the Russell Cup on Friday. Tim McMahon reports…

CBS The Green 1-19

ISK 2-9

CBS The Green celebrates after winning the Russell Cup.

CBS The Green retained the Russell Cup following a pulsating performance in Pairc Eamon Farranfore on Friday.

Despite losing full forward Jack Savage to a leg injury in the warm up, the Green got off to a flying start leading 0-5 points to 0-1 after 10 minutes.

ISK responded with a good goal but the CBS students responded in kind with a goal of their own from the outstanding Josh Lynch.

They followed this with three points to head to the dressing room with a two point half time lead, 1-8 to 1-6.

Continued below…


The Green totally dominated the second half racking up four points without reply on the resumption.

Though ISK rallied with another goal to cut the deficit to three, the boys from the Green were not to be undone and with Donal Daly pulling the strings on the 40, feeding the energetic Donncha Sayers inside, it was to be the Tralee school’s day.

It was a super team performance combining strong determined defensive play and expansive attacking football.

Team and scorers:

Ben O Brien(KoR)

Ciaran White(JM)

TJ Heaphy (c) (KoR)

Jack O Donoghue (JM)

Nathan Rogers 0.01 (NaG)

Eric McMahon(KoR)

Ben Donnellan (Chill)

Josh Lynch 1.03 (AS)

Ronan Pearse(Afert)

Sean Healy (KoR)

Donal Daly 1.07(Bmac)

Togor Silong 0.01(AS)

Donncha Sayers 0.04(AS)

Enda Cahill 0.01(AS)

Danny Hennessey 0.02(KoR)

Subs: Jack Savage, Jake Foley for S Healy, Conor Kerins for J Lynch (Temp sub)

Adam Hegarty, Ben Hannafin, Muiris Harty, Cillian Lynch, Jessie Duggan, Donnagh Stephenson, Tadhg Scanlon, Darragh O Connell, Austin Fitzgerald, Mossie Brennan, Brian Lenihan, Sean Collins, Paric Meaney, Mark Sheehan.

Comments are closed.