Darragh To Step Down As Cork U21s Make It Five In A Row Against Kerry

Posted by


Na Gaeil's Jack Barry brakes a ball against Cork in the U21 Munster semi-final. Photo by Gavin O'Connor.

Na Gaeil’s Jack Barry brakes a ball against Cork in the U21 Munster semi-final. Photo by Gavin O’Connor.

U21 Munster Championship Semi Final, Páirc Uí Rinn

Cork 1-12

Kerry 1-9

FOR the fifth consecutive year Kerry have been beaten by Cork in the Munster U21 championship.

In a tight game, Kerry were only a point behind going into the final ten minutes, but the Leesiders more physical side finished the match the stronger.

Four players from Tralee were involved on the night – Kerins O’Rahilly’s Cormac Cofffey and Jack Savage and Na Gaeil’s Jack Barry all started the match.

Cormac Coffey of Kerins O'Rahilly's, keeps a close reign on his man Seán O’Donoghue. Photo by Gavin O'Connor.

Cormac Coffey of Kerins O’Rahilly’s, keeps a close eye on his man Seán O’Donoghue. Photo by Gavin O’Connor.

Austin Stacks’ Greg Horan, who was suffering from a shoulder injury came on for Jack Savage only 15 minutes into the game after the Strand Road man was black carded.

With Savage being one of Kerry’s finest attackers and a vital cog in how the forward line ticks, this was a major blow for the Kingdom.

On a night where they stayed in touch by winning scrappy frees, his input on a misfiring forward line would have made the world of difference.

Indeed, Kerry only scored two points from play in total, barely even getting shots on goal while Cork raked up the wides keeping Kerry in it.

Cork got off to a whirlwind start scoring 1-2 early on. Kerry did well to pull it back to 1-4 to 1-2 at half time to Cork. Legion’s Conor Keane scored the goal and looked the only player who may make a dent in this year’s Kerry senior team.

Although it was a bit of a baptism of fire for Cormac Coffey, with his man bagging a goal in the first couple of minutes, the 19 year old soon grew into the game and kept Kerry from harm’s way on a number of occasions.

Matthew Flaherty of

Matthew Flaherty of Kerry puts pressure on Tomás O’Rourke of Cork. Photo by Gavin O’Connor.

On 44 minutes Kerry and Cork were level 1-7 apiece. There was one late goal chance which would have put Kerry ahead going into the final minutes, but Jack Barry who breached the Cork defence elected to pass it square instead of shooting himself – a fisted point would may even have been the better option.

Kerry’s midfield of Jack Barry and Barry O’Sullivan performed well throughout and had the beating of their men in that area. Where Kerry lost it was not having enough scoring forwards and not being as physical Cork.

Darragh O’Se’s gamble on picking six of last year’s minors did not pay off. After three disappointing years as U21 manager, ‘An Fear Láidir’ won’t be seeking another term in charge.

Scorers for Cork: Cathal Vaughan 0-4 (0-3f), Seán O’Donoghue 1-1 (0-1f), Peter Kelleher, Seán White, Conor Horgan 0-2 each, Brian O’Driscoll 0-1.

Scorers for Kerry: Conor Keane 1-7 (0-6f), Brian Crowley, Jack Savage (0-1f) 0-1 each.


1. Micheál Martin (Nemo Rangers)

2. Micheál McSweeney (Newcestown)
5. Tomás O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers)
4. Stephen Cronin (Nemo Rangers)

3. Jamie Davis (Douglas)
6. Seán White (Clonakilty)
7. Kevin Crowley (Millstreet)

20. Dan O’Callaghan (Clyda Rovers)
9. Darragh Murphy (Valley Rovers)

11. Kevin Davis (O’Donovan Rossa)
10. Brian O’Driscoll (Tadhg Mac Cárthaigh)
9. Alan O’Donovan (Nemo Rangers)

13. Cathal Vaughan (Uibh Laoire)
14. Peter Kelleher (Kilmichael)
15. Seán O’Donoghue (Inniscarra)

17. Dylan Quinn (St Finbarr’s) for Crowley (21, injury)
24. Michael Hurley (Castlehaven) for O’Callaghan (38)
22. Conor Horgan (Nemo Rangers) for K Davis (48)
19. Cian Kiely (Ballincollig) for McSweeney (56)


1. Shane Ryan (Rathmore)

2. Cormac Coffey (Kerins O’Rahillys)
3. Gavin Crowley (Templenoe)
4. Briain Ó Beaglaíoch (An Ghaeltacht)

5. Ronan Murphy (Beaufort)
6. Denis Daly (St Mary’s)
7. Cathal Ó Lúing (An Ghaeltacht)

8. Jack Barry (Na Gaeil)
9. Barry O’Sullivan (Dingle)

12. Micheál Burns (Dr Crokes)
11. Jack Savage (Kerins O’Rahillys)
10. Brian Crowley (Templenoe)

13. Matthew Flaherty (Dingle)
14. Dara Roche (Glenflesk)
15. Conor Keane (Legion)

18. Greg Horan (Austin Stacks) for Savage (15, black card)
21. Kevin McCarthy (Kilcummin) for Burns (51)
17. Cathal Murphy (Rathmore) for Daly (both 51)
22. Éanna Ó Conchúir (An Ghaeltacht) for Crowley (56)
24. Liam Carey (Beaufort) for Ó Conchúir (57, black card)

Comments are closed.