How Much Have Our Kerry TDs Earned Since 2011?

Posted by


SINCE 2011, the six sitting Kerry TDs have received a combined total of over €3.6m in salaries and expenses.

With figures obtained by an ‘Irish Mirror’ investigation team through the Freedom of Information Act, it was revealed the total gross amount paid out to Kerry TDs in salary and expenses between 2011 and 2015 was €3,669,639.

The report found that over the course of five years, Taoiseach Enda Kenny, unsurprisingly received the most in Leinster House with €1,078,236, in salaries and expenses.

Jimmy Deenhihan topped the list of Kerry TDs with a figure of €864,664, in his time as Minister for Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht and in his current role of Minister for Diaspora Affairs.

South Kerry, independent TD, Brendan Griffin, comes in at second on the list of Kerry TDs with salary and expenses totalling€582,351. Deputy Griffin donates half of his salary  to a school so it can employ a teacher.

Coming behind Brendan Griffin was, Labout TD Arthur Spring, who received €581,280, followed by Independent Michael Healy Rae who earned €577,391.

Tom Fleming received €547,247, while Martin Ferris received €516,706, but takes home the average industrial wage of €32,000 a year.

Kerry TDs salaries and expenses 2011 – 2015 

1. Jimmy Deenihan – €864,664

2. Brendan Griffin – €582,351

3. Arthur Spring –  €581,280

4. Michael Healy Rea – €577,391

5. Tom Fleming – €547,247

6. Martin Ferris – €516,706

Comments are closed.