Number Of Safety Camera Zones In Kerry Increases By 200%

Posted by


Some of the speed camera zones (blue lines) in Tralee urban area.

THERE will be 47 new safety camera zones introduced in Kerry from Monday, February 17 at 6am.

This brings the total to 70 on national, regional, local and urban roads in the county, up from 23. There will be 41 on national roads, 26 on regional roads, one on local roads and two on urban roads.

In Tralee town urban area there are speed camera zones on John Joe Sheehy Road, from upper Rock Street out to the Abbeydorney road, from the train station out the Oakpark road, from Pembroke Street out past the Mounthawk roundabout.

Continued below…


GoSafe are contracted to provide a minimum of 7,400 hours speed enforcement and 100 hours surveying per month as directed by An Garda Síochána.

Nationally, 903 new safety camera zones will be introduced making a total of 1,322 zones nationwide.

575 safety camera zones have been removed following a review. More than 1.5m speeding tickets have been issued since introduction of safety cameras (AGS & GoSafe). To see the map of the zones go to the Garda website.


Comments are closed.