REPORT: CBS The Green Wins Russell Cup After Win Over Great Rivals

Posted by


A report on the Kerry Colleges A U15 Football Russell Cup between CBS The Green and St Brendan’s Killarney on Wednesday afternoon, supplied by CBS…

Tralee CBS 4-9

St Brendan’s Killarney 2-11

The Russell Cup being presented to the Under 15 Captain Jordan Kissane by Chairman of Kerry Post Primary Schools GAA and teacher at CBS The Green, Fergus Clifford.

TRALEE CBS recaptured the U15 Russell following a three year absence following a hard fought victory over holders St Brendans Killarney.

In a game played in wintry conditions despite some deceptive sunshine, The Green played with the aid of a stiff breeze and only led by one following the first  third of the game 0-5 to 1-1, with the seemingly vital Sem goal coming after 12mins from Cian McMahon.

The Green however hit a purple patch prior to half time, with Jack Savage adding two points and Jordan Kissane brought his personal tally to 2-3 with two late goals to gave the Tralee side an eight-point cushion at the interval.

Continued below…


Facing into a stiff breeze in the 2nd half, the Green knew that only a Herculean effort would be required for victory and that is exactly what they produced. Inspired by the brilliance of the Currow twins Jack and David Moriarty in defence, two further goals from Tadhg Reen and the raiding Thomas O’Donnell put the Green into a seemingly unassailable lead with 15 minutes left.

The Sem to their credit never gave up and a second goal but them back in touching distance with the deficit reduced to seven.

However the resoluteness of Cian Kearney, Liam Og Kingston  and Jerome Daly kept the tide at bay and as the clock ticked away, so did the Sem’s chances.

At the final whistle there were emotional scenes as the Green ran out five point well deserved victors and captain Jordan Kissane accepted the Russell Cup.


Ben Quilter (Austin Stacks); Ruairi O Connell (Austin Stacks), David Moriarty (Currow), Liam Óg Kingston (Na Gaeil), Jack Moriarty (Currow), Cian Kearney (Churchill), Jerome Daly (Kerins O Rahillys), Armin Heinrich (Austin Stacks), Thomas O’Donnell (1-0) (Castlegregory), Denis Brosnan (Ballymac), Maurice O’Connell (0-3) (Castlegregory), Jack Savage (0-2) (Kerins O’Rahillys), Enis Reka (Kerins O’Rahillys), Jordan Kissane (2-4) (Austin Stacks), Tadhg Reen (Na Gaeil).

SUBS: Nathan Moriarty O Shea (St Pats), Ryan Guerin for Daly (55mins) (St Senans), Seán McGrath for Savage (45mins) (St Senans), Sam McCarthy (Kerins O Rahillys), Tj Heaphy (Kerins O Rahillys), Seán Horan (Ballymac), James Charles (Ardfert), Ciaran Commane for Brosnan (20mins) (Finuge), Dylan Barry O’Connell (Ballymac), Gavin Parker (St Senans).

Comments are closed.