ELECTION UPDATE: O’Gorman And Finucane Eliminated After Eighth Count

Posted by
Kerry ETB insert


Election Michael 'Pixie' O'Gorman

Michael ‘Pixie’ O’Gorman has been eliminated after the eighth count. Photo by Dermot Crean

BRIAN Finucane and Michael ‘Pixie’ O’Gorman were eliminated after the eighth count which saw John Brassil extend his lead over Jimmy Deenihan.

The Fine Gael man is now 1,916 behind the Fianna Fail candidate from Ballyheigue as Brendan Griffin and Martin Ferris lead the way on 11,223 and  10,583 respectively and are virtually assured to be elected.

Now it gets very interesting as the votes of O’Gorman and Finucane are distributed. Ferris will probably be the main beneficiary of their votes and could even see him overtake Griffin after Count Nine. (see result below)

Eighth Count result (distribution of Michael Fitzgerald’s vote in brackets)

John Brassil (FF) – 9,242 (105)

Jimmy Deenihan (FG) – 7,326 (69)

Martin Ferris (SF) – 10,583 (93)

Brian Finucane (AAA/PBP) – 1,429 (168)

Brendan Griffin (FG) – 11,223 (224)

Norma Moriarty (FF) – 5,252 (80)

Michael O’Gorman (Ind) – 1,674 (85)

Arthur Spring (Lab) – 5,601 (245)

Comments are closed.