REPORT/PHOTOS: Kerry Beat Meath To Reach Under 21B All-Ireland Hurling Final

Posted by


Mike O’Halloran was at the Bord Gais Energy GAA Hurling All Ireland U21B Semi-Final on Saturday in Semple Stadium to see Kerry take on Meath…

Kerry 1-23

Meath 1-9

Jason Diggins. clears under pressure. Photo by Mike O’Halloran

Kerry ran out easy winners in the end on the scoreline of Kerry 1-23 Meath 1-9, but for a short period at the beginning of the game, Kerry were in a bit of bother.

This was because of Meath centre forward Eamonn O’Donnacha who goaled to put Meath ahead by two points 1-1 to 0-2, Kerry’s two points coming from Michael O’Leary and Shane Conway.

Meath had another goal chance a few minutes later. The goal and the following goal chance was as good as it got for Meath though, as the Kerry halfback line, augmented by corner forward Ronan Donovan, finally got to grips with their opponents.

Continued below…


Thomas O’Connor levelled matters on five points all on 22 minutes. Points from Shane Conway, Michael O’Leary and John Buckley saw Kerry go in at half time four points to the good 0-11 to 1-4.

Meath opened the second half scoring with a pointed free from Conor Kearney and were only to score four more points before the end.

Kerry were playing with the aid of a fairly decent wind in the second half and added 1-12.

Shane Conway ready to pounce. Photo by Mike O’Halloran

Shane Conway opened Kerry’s account in the second half with two beautiful points, showing every skill in the book to tap over with ease, he scored ten points in all.

Conway’s scoring exploits were added to by Eoin Ross who drove over three long range points and hit a long range free to the net at the end.

Michael O’Leary, Ronan Donovan and Barry O’Sullivan added points. Mark Slevin, Dara Kelly and Peter Farrell were on the score sheet for Meath.

It was fitting that Lixnaw men were to the fore in this win, given that the trophy for the winner of the final is The Richie McElligott Cup.

Richie was a great Lixnaw star, it would be nice to see Darragh Shanahan another Lixnaw man lift the cup on September 8.

The captains meet. Photo by Mike O’Halloran

The result of this game means that the Garveys SuperValu Kerry Senior Hurling semi-finals will not be played on weekend of September 9th and 10th.

Good news for Abbeydorney is that Michael O’Leary has returned from his travels in great shape and was outstanding today in Thurles.

The Kerry U21B hurling panel. Photo by Mike O’Halloran

Kerry Team and Scorers: Stephen Murphy, Stevie O’Sullivan, Darragh Shanahan, (Captain) BillyLyons (Adrian O’Mahony) Eoin Ross (1.03), Jason Diggins, Liam Mullins, Barry O’Sullivan (0.01) Tomás O’Connor (0.01), John Buckley (0.01), Michael O’Leary (0.06), Jordan Brick (Brandon Barrett), Maurice O’Connor (Darragh Ryan), Shane Conway (0.10), Ronan Donovan (0.01) (Jack Linehan).

Comments are closed.