VIDEO: Watch CBS The Green Win Russell Cup Final

Posted by

Sherry Insert

CBS The Green 1-10 

P.S. Chorca Dhuibdne 0-11

Tralee CBS 5

The victorious Tralee CBS team who won the Russell Cup. Photo by Adrienne McLoughlin

A well taken goal by pocket rocket Dan Goggin half way through the first half, coupled with three superb long range points from Sean Quilter and a fantastic point blank save from Ciaran Murray, were the deciding factors in this highly entertaining and exciting Russell Cup Final played at a superbly appointed Dr Crokes pitch Killarney on Friday last April 17th.

When these two sides met in the round robin stage of this competition back in Dingle they were separated by one single point in favour of the Tralee side.

This was always going to be a close encounter and so it proved.

PSCD were first out of the blocks with two quick points from frees. Mikey Kelliher settled the Green with a point from a free.

Both sides traded points in a tight and tentative first half. Goggins goal was the difference at half time with the Green leading on a score of 1-4 to 0-4.

The second half followed a similar pattern with both sides trading points. With five minutes remaining the scores were tied at 1-8 to 0-11.

The pick of the Green’s points was a cracker from substitute John Walsh. The game was really in the melting pot at this stage and the excitement was palpable.  The Green was awarded a close in free which Mikey Kelliher duly converted.

With time practically up, the ball came to Sean Quilter and the talented Austin Stacks man kicked the insurance point.

There was time for one more attack for the westerners but there was no way through a stubborn Green defence. The final whistle was greeted with huge joy by the large number of Green supporters who had travelled to the game.

Captain Kevin Williams accepted the Russell Cup from Weeshie Lynch and Willie O’Connor after the match to great scenes of celebration.

It was a great team performance on the day. As well as those already mentioned the Green was best served by Sean Hamilton, Conor Corrigan, Darragh O’Donoghue, Tadhg Brick, Graham Hudson, Josh O’Keeffe  and Domnick Lyons in defence.

Gearoid Fitzgerald was outstanding in midfield ably assisted by Kevin Williams. On a day when Mikey Kelliher and Jason Mortimer were well marshalled by the PSCD defence, it fell to the other forwards to step up which they duly did.

Scroll down for video highlights…

INEC Bay Run Insert

1. Ciaran Murray Churchill

2. Darragh O Donoghue Listowel Emmets

3. Josh O Keeffe Ballymac

4. Tadhg Brick Ballymac

5. Conor Corrigan Churchill

6. Domnick Lyons Kerins O Rahillys

7. Graham Hudson John Mitchels

8. Gearoid Fitzgerald Austin Stacks

9. Kevin Williams John Mitchels (0-01)

10. Sean Quilter Austin Stacks(0-03)

11. Michael Kelliher John Mitchels(0-04) 3f

12. Joe Looby Lugandu Austin Stacks

13. Sean Hamilton Churchill

14. Jason Mortimer Churchill(0-01)

15. Daniel Goggin Na Gaeil(1-00)
16. David Oba Austin Stacks

17. Jack Dolan Churchill

18. John Walsh Knocknagashel(0-01)

19. Eamon Rohan St Senans

20. Daire Keane Ballymac

21. Paul Linehan Churchill

22. David Couchman Austin Stacks

23. Liam O Donnell Churchill

24. Dean Scanlon Austin Stacks

25. Martin Savage St Pats

26. Harry Benner Churchill

27. Damien Bourke Na Gaeil

28. David FitzgeraldNa Gaeil

Referee: Sean Joy Laune Rangers

Comments are closed.