Ballymacelligott GAA Club News

Posted by


Lee Strand Senior Town Board Championship Final.

Ballymac took on Kerins O’Rahillys in the Town Board Final on Sunday 05th of November.

Unfortunately the day was not to be theirs and failed to gain the Town Championship Title this year with a final score of 1-07 to Kerins O’Rahillys 6-18.

Each player worked hard to maintain a good position but being up against the expertise of  Barry john Keane, Jack Savage, Cormac Coffee to name but a few of Kerry’s talented players it was always going to be a tough battle.

However we now look forward the next season in Division 2 where Ballymac will be sure to bring the skills they have proven to own into 2018.

Lotto Results 30/10/2017
Jackpot €2,100
Venue: Glenduff Manor
Numbers Drawn: 5, 6, 11, 17
No Winner
Lucky Dip Winners €30 each
1. Nora Parkinson, Kilflynn (online)
2. John Brosnan, Caher
3. Linda Butler, Rathanny (online)
4. Lonor Leen, Kilmore (online)
5. Maurice Leen, Chutehall

Sellers Prize: online
Next Weeks Jackpot €2,200
Venue: Halfway Bar

U16 girls Town League Final

Ballymac Girls u16 Town League Champions

Ballymac  2-10  John Mitchell’s 1-4

The Ballymac U16 girls finished up their season last Wed night with a well deserved victory over John Mitchell’s in the Tralee Town Board Sheild final .

Following the defeat to Abbeydorney after extra time in the NK League final the girls were very determined to make amends in this game & from the beginning they set about the task with great gusto .   5 star performances from goalie Robyn White & Eve Creedon for the hour were key to the win . Aisling O Connell , Niamh Rahilly . Aine Rice , Maeve O Sullivan & Caoimhe Carroll contributed handsomely to the performance also .

The first half was quite competitive but some fine saves from Robyn & brave defending from Mitchell’s meant we only led by 2 at the break 4pt to 2pt’s despite having the better of the chances . Caoimhe Carroll , Emily O Donoghue , Lisa Curran & Aine Rice providing the scores for Ballymac .

The 2nd half was a different story once Eve Creedon ( who notched 1-3 from midfield)  raced through the middle to shoot the ball to the Mitchell’s net after 2 minutes , Kate O Connor & Eve added further scores & we proceeded to dominate the 2nd half . Mitchell’s in a rare purple patch kicked 1-1 but from the next attack Lisa Curran found the net to eliminate any doubt about the result . A well deserved win for this group & a great team performance from 1 to 18 .

Captain Aine Rice received the shield from ref John Ross & she proceeded to give her acceptance speech as Gaeilge ! Maith u Aine .

Team : Robyn White , Maeve O Sullivan , Niamh Rahilly , Sinead Mc Kewon , Roisin Long , Caoimhe Carroll , Sophie O Donoghue , Aisling O Connell , Eve Creedon ( 1-3) , Emily O Brien , Aine Rice  (0-1) Cait Rice , Lisa Curran (1-2) Emily O Donoghue (0-2) Lorna Daly . Subs : Kate

O Connor (0-1), Holly Geary , Cora Savage


Our U15 boys played Kerins O’ Rahillies in the Town Championship Semi Final last Wednesday and were victorious on the evening on a score line of Ballymac 8-08 to Kerins O’ Rahillies 4-05. We will play Austin Stacks in the final on a Sunday the 12th of November at 12.00 with the venue TBC.


Our U12 C team were presented with their medals last Monday evening in the club by Diarmuid O Connor – Kerry Minor winner 2017. This evening capped a great year for this young team who won two divisions in the County League and one Central Region Division. This was all the more impressive as all the players were U10. Many thanks to the boys for their great efforts throughout the year – you did your club proud. Also many thanks to the coaches and mentors who worked with this group throughout the year.

FAOI 10/11

Ballymac’s U10 and U11 boys have been invited to play in an invitational blitz on Saturday the 11th of November in Glanmire Co. Cork. The bus will leave from the Ballymac pitch at 9.00am with the first game taking place in Glanmire at 12.00.

Ballymacelligott GAA club AGM

The  Annual General Meeting of Ballymacelligott GAA Club which will take place on Thursday the 30th November 2017 at 7pm in the club rooms. All full members welcome.

The following dates apply:

Nominations & Motions – Returned to the Club Secretary not later than 10.00pm Thursday November  9th.

All those nominated will have until 10.00pm Sunday November 12th to confirm if they wish to contest position.

Comments are closed.