Kerry Badminton Association News

Posted by

The players who took part in the Kerry Masters Team event took place Friday 30 March Presentation Hall Killarney. Photo by Tom Bradley

By Junior Griffin

Competitive badminton returns to the Tralee Sports Centre next Sunday April 8th for the first time in 10 years with the staging of the Paddy Sugrue Tournaments which caters for divisions 2 to 5.

Mr Sugrue was former President of Tralee’s County Club and also the Kerry Badminton Association and Sundays events are being run to mark the 30th anniversary of Mr.Sugrues death  by some of his former County Club members

It has been decided that all proceeds of these tournaments will be donated  to the Tralee Branch of the Chernobyl Childrens Funds  which all will agree is a most deserving charity.

Since 1993 the  Tralee Branch have been bringing children from  the village  of Kozhan in a contaminated area in Southern Belarus to North Kerry  for 4 weeks in June/July for rest/ recuperation  and medical attention and to date the Tralee organisation has brought over 1000 children  to Kerry.

So, all Kerry Badminton  players and  enthusiasts are requested to support these tournaments next Sunday, even if not playing do come along and give your support in some form and, of course, the  non-badminton public are  more than welcome also, any time from 12 noon to 5 pm.

The badminton  programme times as follows; Div 5 at 12 noon; div. 4 at 2 pm; div. 3 at 3.30 and div 2 at 4.30 pm. Entry fee for each division is € 10 per player. Spot prizes more than welcome.

The final tournament of the 2017-2018  Kerry Juvenile Badminton programme under the direction of Juvenile chairman Billy Lacey and juvenile secretary Carmel Hudson  took place on Good Friday in the  Killarney Sport and Leisure Centre with a turnout of 115 children. Annascaul won the best club on the day and took home the club tournament shield. The following are the results.

U11 Girls Stephanie Reid Annascaul and Caoimhe O’Connor Moyvane defeated Maeve Ahern Moyvane and Aoise O’Donoghue Killarney 12/15, 15/12, 15/13

U13 Girls Molly O’Donoghue Killarney and Eilish Enright Castleisland defeated Lily McSweeney Castleisland and Maura Burke Milltown 21/17, 21/18

U15 Girls Madison Carter Listowel and Laura O’Connor Killarney were winners and Adele O’Brien Killarney and Danielle Moriarty Castleisland were runners up played on round robin format

U17 Girls Ciara Hudson Moyvane and Aoife Bowler defeated Olivia Wesoloska Killarney and Aisling Harty Ballyheigue on round robin format

U11 Boys Ruadhan Donovan Annascaul and James Horgan O’Brien Moyvane defeated Jack Lyne Annascaul and Eamon Bowler Moyvane 10/15, 15/11, 15/5

U13 Boys Odhran O’Neill Milltown and Tomas O’Sullivan Listowel defeated Ayrton Burke Castleisland and Patrick O’Connor Moyvane 21/14, 21/16

U15 Boys Cathal Donovan Annascaul and Ross Twomey Killarney defeated Muiris Harty Ballyheigue and Dara Newsome Ballyheigue 21/7, 21/9

U17 Boys Niall O’Brien Killarney and Oisin Moran Killarney defeated Seamus Knightly Annascaul and Dara Lawlor Killarney on round robin format

The plate results are as follows:-

U11 Girls Aoibhin McCarthy Moyvane and Chloe McHugh Milltown defeated Aobhadh Dillon and Katelyn Dillon Milltown

U13 Girls Marie Heffernan Milltown and Jessica O’Loughlin Castleisland defeated Nicola Kennelly Moyvane and Yen Leniston Killarney

U11 Boys Sean Scanlon Moyvane and Con Mahony Castleisland defeated David Brassil Moyvane and Evan Daly Iveragh

U13 Boys Jack O’Donoghue Moyvane and Conor O’Keefe Killarney defeated Abir Kazi Killarney and Martin O’Sullivan Listowel

U15 Boys Hasib Ahmmed Killarney and Peter Fitzgerald Ballyheigue defeated Tom Hoare Annascaul and Adam Dineen Ballyheigue

The following are the results of the art competition which is based on a Badminton theme . There was  29 entries with the overall standard being of an exceptionally high quality.

U10 Girls

1st Aine Newsome Annascaul

2nd Kate Harmon Castleisland

3rd Nicole Vesko Listowel

4th Kate Nolan Listowel

U10 Boys

1st Premyslaw Choromanski Moyvane

2nd Kian Lyons Moyvane

3rd Sean Scanlon Moyvane

4th Cillian Haugh Moyvane

U12 Girls

1st Grace Harrison Moyvane

2nd Aoife Curran Moyvane

3rd Sarah Casey Annascaul

U12 Boys

1st Shahir Rahman Killarney

2nd Safwan Rahman Killarney

U14 Girls

1st Yen Leniston Killarney

2nd Mary Casey Annascaul

U14 Boys

1st Ross Twomey Killarney

Comments are closed.