‘I’m Utterly Stunned’ — Cllr Norma Foley Elected On First Count

Posted by


Cllr Norma Foley is congratulated by her mother Hannah after the announcement of her reelection. Photo by Dermot Crean

CLLR Norma Foley said she was stunned and grateful after being re-elected to the Tralee Municipal District of Kerry County Council on the first count at the John Mitchels GAA Complex on Sunday morning.

The current Cathaoirleach of Kerry County Council garnered 2,106 first preference votes and exceeded the quota of 1,625. In second was Toireasa Ferris on 1.539 with Terry O’Brien in third (see full result below.

The Fianna Fáil councillor increased her first preference vote by 565 from the 2014 election (1,541).

Cllr Foley was congratulated immediately after the announcement by her mother Hannah and family, while party colleagues and fellow candidates also offered their best wishes.

Continued below…


Speaking to TraleeToday.ie after the announcement, Cllr Foley was understandably delighted, but did she expect to get such a large vote?

“I’m utterly stunned, I didn’t anticipate it to be honest with you. I had a wonderful team of people working with me, I work hard and consistently. I may not always get it right but I always give my absolute best. I’m very grateful to the people throughout the Tralee Municipal District who support me and have a good word for me.

Cllr Norma Foley celebrates with family and supporters at the John Mitchels GAA Complex on Sunday morning. Photo by Dermot Crean

“My family have been phenomenal. My husband Denis is a meticulous organiser, we are very much a team, he plans everything, and my mother runs the show at home and does the praying!”

She also got quite emotional when speaking about her father Denis who passed away in 2013.

“My father is the angel on my shoulder. My heart soars when people mention him to me on the canvass,” she said.

Cllr Foley also paid tribute to the two Tralee MD councillors, Tom McEllistrim and Pat McCarthy who lost their seats yesterday running in the Castleisland Electoral Area. The results of the second count will follow soon.

The First Count results…

Norma Foley (FF) 2,106

Toireasa Ferris (SF) 1,539

Terry O’Brien (Lab) 1,462

Jim Finucane (FG) 1,202

Mikey Sheehy (FF) 1,180

Pa Daly (SF) 1,123

Sam Locke (Ind) 810

Anne Marie Fuller (Green) 683

Bridget O’Brien (FG) 612

Cathal Foley (SF) 653

Ben Slimm (Lab) 420

Johnnie Wall (FF) 412

Mary Fitzgibbon (Aontu) 318

Ted Cronin (Ind) 197

Bec Fahy (PBP) 174

Yvonne Dineen (Ind) 80

Denis O’Reilly (Ind) 28

Total Electorate — 25,036

Total Poll — 13,169

Spoiled votes — 170

Turnout — 52.6%

Total Valid Poll — 12,999

Quota — 1,625

Comments are closed.