Mixed Emotions For Toiréasa Ferris As She Retains Her Seat After Fourth Count

Posted by


Cllr Toireasa Ferris with husband Pa Kelly and parents Marie and Martin after she was re-elected to Tralee Municipal District of Kerry County Council. Photo by Dermot Crean

CLLR Toireasa Ferris has retained her seat in the Tralee Municipal District after the result of the fourth count for the Tralee Electoral Area was announced this afternoon.

The 36 votes she received put the Sinn Féin councillor over the quota of 1,625 by 11 votes (see full result below).

Speaking to TraleeToday.ie, Cllr Ferris expressed her gratitude for the support she has received, but is disappointed that Sinn Féin are very unlikely to see their third candidate, Cathal Foley, get a seat.

Continued below…


“I’m absolutely gutted that we couldn’t have managed the vote a bit better. It would have kept me a bit lower, so Cathal could have got that third seat. I’m very grateful to all those who voted for Sinn Féin, we got 25% of the vote and we only needed 21% to get the three seats.

“My family  and myself all voted strategically to try and get the three elected, but I think in the last few days there was a bit of speculation that Cathal’s entry might damage myself and Pa and it panicked some people and they reverted to voting for Pa and I.

“I think it would have been fantastic for Tralee to have three left voices in Tralee MD, but it wasn’t to be,” said Cllr Ferris.

The fourth count at the John Mitchels GAA Complex, saw the votes of Bec Fahy distributed. The votes of Ted Cronin, who has now been eliminated — will be distributed for the fifth count.

The Fourth Count result…

Toireasa Ferris (SF) 1,636 (+ 36)

Terry O’Brien (Lab) 1,568 (+ 17)

Jim Finucane (FG) 1,257 (+ 6)

Mikey Sheehy (FF) 1,318 (+ 5)

Pa Daly (SF) 1,167 (+ 11)

Sam Locke (Ind) 862 (+ 11)

Anne Marie Fuller (Green) 753 (+ 45)

Bridget O’Brien (FG) 647 (+ 4)

Cathal Foley (SF) 674 (+ 5)

Ben Slimm (Lab) 443 (+ 11)

Johnnie Wall (FF) 458 (+ 3)

Mary Fitzgibbon (Aontu) 338 (+ 2)

Ted Cronin (Ind) 225 (+ 12)

Total Electorate — 25,036

Total Poll — 13,169

Spoiled votes — 170

Turnout — 52.6%

Total Valid Poll — 12,999

Quota — 1,625

Comments are closed.